The Henry County Board of Commissioners held a Called Public Meeting at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, December 2, 2009, in the Community Room, County Administration Building, 140 Henry Parkway, McDonough, Georgia. Notice of this meeting was posted in the entrance foyer of the County Administration Building. The Daily Herald was notified of this meeting. Those present were:


                        Elizabeth “BJ” Mathis, Chairman,

Reid A. Bowman, Vice-Chairman, District IV Commissioner

Warren E. Holder, District I Commissioner

Rick Jeffares, District II Commissioner

            Randy Stamey, District III Commissioner

Johnny B. Basler, District V Commissioner

Also attending were Shay Mathis, County Clerk; LaTonya Nix-Wiley, County Attorney; Phyllis Shrader, Interim County Manager; Mike Bush, Finance Director; Terry McMickle, Public Works Division Director; Michael Harris, Planning & Zoning Services Division Director; Jim Luebbering, Building and Development Services Division Director; and others.

(NOTE: Audio of this meeting is available with the County Clerk in the Board of Commissioners’ Office and will be retained for a period no less than twelve (12) months from the date of this meeting.) 

Chairman Mathis called the meeting to order and called for an acceptance of the agenda.  Commissioner Basler made the motion to approve the agenda; Commissioner Holder seconded.  The motion carried 5-0-0.

Announcement of the New County Manager

Chairman Mathis announced that Mr. James “Butch” Sanders is the new County Manager.  Mr. Sanders will begin work on December 14, 2009.

Employment agreement with the County Manager

            Commissioner Stamey made the motion to approve the employment agreement with Mr. Butch Sanders; Commissioner Bowman seconded.  The motion carried 5-0-0.


            Commissioner Basler made the motion to adjourn; Commissioner Jeffares seconded.  The motion carried 5-0-0.


                                                                        Elizabeth “BJ” Mathis, Chairman


            Shay Mathis, County Clerk