The Henry County Board of Commissioners held a joint meeting with the City of McDonough, City of Locust Grove, City of Hampton and the City of Stockbridge at 7:00 p.m, on Thursday, June 14, 2007, at the Henry County Administration Building, 140 Henry Parkway, McDonough, Georgia.  Notice of this meeting was posted in the foyer of the Henry County Administration Building.  The Daily Herald was notified of this meeting.  Those present were:


            Henry County Board of Commissioners


            Jason T. Harper, Chairman

            Elizabeth “BJ” Mathis, Vice-Chairman/District II Commissioner

            Warren E. Holder, District I Commissioner

            Reid A. Bowman, Sr., District IV Commissioner

Johnny B. Basler, District V Commissioner


            Rob Magnaghi, County Manager

            Shay Mathis, County Clerk

            Patrick Jaugstetter, County Attorney



            City of McDonough


            Billy Copeland, Mayor

            Gina Riffey, Councilmember

            Sandra Vincent, Councilmember

            Gail Notti, Councilmember

            Rufus Stewart, Councilmember

            Monta Brown, Councilmember

            Janis Price, City Clerk


            City of Locust Grove


            W. L. (Billy) Carter, Councilmember

            Keith Boone, Councilmember

            Frances Ward, Councilmember

            Rick Jeffares, City Manager


            City of Stockbridge


            R. G. Kelley, Mayor

            W. A. (Rip) Gardner, Councilmember

Harold L. Cochran, Councilmember

Fred Evans, Councilmember

Ted Strickland, City Manager


City of Hampton


R. W. Coley, Mayor

Henry Byrd, Councilmember

Paul Jones, Councilmember

Mary Ann Mitcham, Councilmember

Kim Drinkall, City Clerk


(NOTE: Audio of this meeting is available with the County Clerk in the Board of Commissioners’ Office and will be retained for a period no less than twelve (12) months from the date of this meeting.)


            Chairman Harper called the meeting to order and called for an acceptance of the agenda.  Commissioner Bowman made the motion to approve the agenda; Commissioner Basler seconded.  The motion carried unanimously.


            Chairman Harper stated this meeting was a historic occasion where the County Commission and the four City Mayors and Councilmember’s convened to consider an Intergovernmental Agreement concerning the SPLOST (Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax) Referendum for November, 2007. 

            Chairman Harper introduced the Elected Officials for each municipality and stated Patrick Jaugstetter, County Attorney, will represent the legal matters of the County and A. J. (Buddy) Welch, Attorney for Smith, Welch, and Brittain, will represent the legal matters of the Cities.

            Patrick Jaugstetter stated a draft agreement was prepared for consideration.  The SPLOST law states, with respect to SPLOST proceeds, counties and cities can either enter into an agreement or not.  If there is not an agreement, there is a limit to collect proceeds for five (5) years and the proceeds are distributed in accordance to population.  If there is an agreement (which is encouraged by the State) proceeds can be collected for six (6) years, there is more flexibility in the how the funds are used and the proceeds can be divided in any manner approved.  There was a meeting of county and city officials where the proposed intergovernmental agreement began.  The agreement states the proceeds will be divided 75% retained by the County and 25% to the Cities.  Each of the cities will receive a percentage of the 25%.  The agreement calls for sharing of the decision making as to which projects will be completed.  The project lists have not been completed.  The Cities have submitted their project lists and the County’s list is still in draft form.  When all project lists have been completed, the lists will be reviewed by the County and the Cities.  The agreement also allows the SPLOST proceeds to be bonded.  The agreement states the County will issue one bond and distribute the proceeds of the bond.  The agreement is fairly written and reflects the interest of the citizens to maximize the benefit of SPLOST to everyone’s gain.  Mr. Jaugstetter recommended that the Board of Commissioners approve the Intergovernmental Agreement.

            Buddy Welch, Attorney, stated that everyone should remember this is not a new tax but a reenactment of the existing SPLOST.  The proposed Intergovernmental Agreement is being handled more efficient than others as far as the administration of the proceeds.  All the Cities and their representatives and the County Commission and their negotiators worked to resolve the matter.  As far as the Cities are concerned, they will receive 25% of the proceeds with the cities of Hampton and Locust Grove receiving 10.20% each; McDonough will receive 35.79%; Stockbridge will receive 43.81%.  The agreement was reviewed by Bond Council and recommendations and corrections were made and they advised that the agreement complies with all of the bond statutes.

            Mr. Jaugstetter added that from the County’s perspective one agreement was negotiated with the Cities as a whole.  The Cities should be commended for negotiating among themselves the percentage each City would receive of the 25%.  The Intergovernmental Agreement represents five (5) agreements; this reflects a desire of the Elected Officials to best serve the citizens without a battle of turf.

            Mr. Welch added that all the Cities adopted resolutions approving the Intergovernmental Agreement and authorized the respective mayors and clerks to sign the necessary documents.

            Commissioner Holder made the motion to approve a resolution and adopt the intergovernmental agreement; Commissioner Mathis seconded.  The motion carried unanimously. (A copy of the agreement will be retained in the County Clerk’s Office as well as each of the City Clerk’s Office)

(There was a symbolic vote on the Intergovernmental Agreement by each of the City Councilmember’s and the agreement was signed by each Mayor and the Chairman of the County Commission)

            Commissioner Mathis made the motion to adjourn the meeting; Commissioner Bowman seconded.  The motion carried unanimously.


                                                                                    Jason T. Harper, Chairman

Shay Mathis, County Clerk